Stockholm Calling.

Amusing article about the guy whose job it is to call people to tell them they’ve won a Nobel Prize. nobel

Halfway through, [the meeting] a message came from Nurse’s office. Could he please switch his phone on? There was a voicemail. “It was a heavy Swedish accent. I was a bit confused, and listened again. I’m not good with technology, so it took ages.” The second time, he thought it might be saying he had won the prize. “I went back into the room I’d just left. I said, ‘Do excuse me, I have to go now. I think I’ve won the Nobel prize.'” As excuses for leaving a meeting go, it’s quite a flash one.

2 comments

Tell me.

