Kimcheeeee!

A while back, I posted about a movie review I’d seen which described The Foul King as “possibly the Citizen Kane of Korean wrestling movies”.
Well last night I managed to catch the last 3/4 of it on SBS and I can say that that description is categorically false. It’s more like the Rocky of Korean wrestling movies combined with the Bananas of Korean wrestling movies. There wasn’t a minute of the film where I didn’t have at least a grin on my face, and most of the time I was laughing my ass off. Practically nobody in the movie speaks below a shout, and a good deal of the film is taken up by Howard Dean-like martial-arts yelps of the “YOOOOAAAAAAUUUUGGGHHH!!!!” variety. The leading man, Song Kang-ho, has a very appealing goofy sweetness and is an incredibly adept physical comedian. Surreal, hysterical, and featuring some awesome Korean new-wave pop on the soundtrack. I haven’t had such a brilliant time at the movies in ages. Highly, highly recommended.

