Opposition research

I’m one of those people who can simultaneously read two or three books at once and follow them all. I’ve decided to peek into the alternately laughable and terrifying world of idiot literature. I’ve compiled a list, from the catalogue of the Canberra public library (books are expensive enough in Australia, I’m not going to waste money on these freaks.) They will include, but will certainly not be limited to:
The Age of Consent by George Monbiot
No Logo by Naomi Klein
Dude, Where’s My Country? by Michael Moore
Not Happy, John! by Margo Kingston
Living History by Hilary Rodham Clinton
The Population Explosion by Paul Ehrlich
The New Rulers Of The World by John Pilger
Why Do People Hate America? by Ziauddin Sardar and Merryl Wyn Davies.
Orientalism by Edward Said
Living Faith by Jimmy Carter
And just to prove that leftists do not have a monoply on idiocy,
The Death Of The West by Patrick Buchanan
I’m starting off with a grotesque tome entitled The Empire of Ignorance, Hypocrisy and Ignorance: What’s Wrong With America And How We Can Fix It by one Julian Ninio, a native of France (natch). He claims to be a US citizen and a Harvard MBA, but this is belied by his writing, in which he displays the cognitive and reasoning skills of a boiled potato. The book is fulsomely dedicated to Noam Chomsky, if that tells you anything.
If anyone can figure out a way for me to make money off this, please let me know. Maybe like one of those March of Dimes walk-a-thons where people pledge money for each mile you walk? Five dollars per idiot isn’t too much to ask, I think.

4 comments

  1. Al Maviva

    What, the bashing-yourself-in-the-forehead-repeatedly-with-a-28-ounce-ball-peen-hammer-for-money-gig didn’t work out?

  2. Michael Jennings

    I think I would rather have my toenails forcibly removed without anaesthetic than read even one of those books, although “The Population Bomb” is good for a laugh. Note 1. Erlich wrote it in the early 1970s. Note 2. Some people still take him seriously.
    But no, Sasha, no. Save your sanity.