Feeling Down ‘n’ Dirty, Feeling Kinda Mean

I’ve finally had it with my left wing fuck knuckle friends. I’m done getting their stupid emails with text lifted off MoveOn.org, the deranged and paranoid videos put together by disenchanted Kucinich fans, the talking points circulated via Atrios and Kos.
Basta.
From now on, I’m telling them to get fucked, and leaving it at that.
I’ve had it. I’ve opened the last stupid email, suffered the last bullshit, hysterical insult, put up with the last moronic paranoid insult.
No, I’m not a nice sensible Republican, a reasonable person unlike all those other Republicans. I’m basically a normal Republican – something my liberal and left wing bigoted friends can’t seem to get. I’m a normal guy, a great neighbor, a good lawyer who has stuck up for destitute criminal defendants and civil rights plaintiffs – but if my so-called friends are to be believed, I’m the only Republican out there who is so enlightened, etc.
Yeah, right.
The fact is, I’m a generally polite Republican, because, for the most part, we believe in being polite and not telling people to get fucked.
But I’m done with politeness, at least for now. I’ve had it. Maybe it’s the Kerry assholes now insulting everybody who served and is critical of him, but who didn’t “serve with” Kerry. Maybe it’s the repeated lies of his campaign, the shit that gets recycled into my inbox by my so-called friends. Maybe it’s because I’m tired of seeing plain old news stories get recycled and logic-chopped beyond all belief in defense of their man – we’re seeing a shitstorm of that right now. “Oh, he meant he was near Cambodia, which is true, really, because the Mekong Delta ends only 50 miles from Cambodia, and really, 50 miles is just a 40 minute drive in a good car, so he was quite near…
Maybe it’s because these motherfuckers would elect Bill Z. Bubb, ignoring his record of sheer evil and eternal torment of men’s souls, if it would get a Dem back in the office.
Whatever. It doesn’t matter.
Yep, I’ve fucking had it. No sense of humor or tolerance left. I’m done tolerating fools. No more explanations. Y’all left wing shit for brains can go read some history for yourself, or some Hayek, or maybe try reading something other than your handful of elite-preaching-to-the-choir newspapers, and quit listening to NPR if you want. I’m done trying to argue.
Anybody else out there feel the same way – that liberals are basically just getting dumber and more pernicious and stubborn in their errors, and there’s nothing we do can change this?

19 comments

  1. Scarab

    I usually just smile at them, cluck my tongue, and walk away. Only if they follow me and insist on an arguement do I pull out a map showing them the quickest way to go to hell.
    Scarab

  2. Ironbear

    Ayup. You, me, Mike, Allah… a whole lot of folks based on those I correspond with. A lot of us have pretty well given up on them.

  3. Jim

    Yep, sign me up too. I’m still talking to family and long-term friends, but keeping things very pleasant and watered down. All others can take a flying leap at a rolling doughnut!

  4. sds

    I think you’ve answered Alan’s post, “Can’t We All Just Get Along?”
    “The fact is, I’m a generally polite Republican, because, for the most part, we believe in being polite and not telling people to get fucked.”
    Aren’t most of us that way, Republicans and Libertarians? It’s the liberals who typically aren’t polite. Maybe we all need to vent a little more.
    Hell, my stay-out-of-everyone’s-business father is so pissed off he’s writing letters to the editor asking simple questions, like, “Please, anyone, tell me what John Kerry has done in the last 5, 10, even 15 years? Anything?? Anything after Viet Nam?”
    Of course, the best one I’ve heard yet from one of my Dem friends, as far as Kerry’s voting record, is, “It’s unfair to judge him on his voting record, because those bills are so complicated and full of pork, that everyone’s record looks bad.”
    Maybe I need to start clucking like Scarab instead of just shaking my head in absolute incredulity.

  5. Pat

    Yeah, but here you are still blogging because deep down you hope that they are still capable of reason and can leave the dark side and come into the light. You protest too much, my friend. But good luck trying anyway!

  6. Major Sean Bannion

    Al, I hadn’t even seen the rest of the piece when my browser opened to this. I just knew it had to be you when I saw Foreigner lyrics as a headline.
    But I digress…
    Over time, I’ve acquired a shorthand to help the less politically astute among us.
    Whenever one someone says something like, “Ah, both parties are the same. What’s the difference between the two?” I just say, “Easy, a Democrat is a person who has never taken a single course in either economics or logic.” Or to paraphrase P.J. O’Rourke, a Democrat is a person who thinks if I eat the whole pizza, he has to eat the box.
    Hell, I got a C in logic in college and I can still tell at first blush when an argument is BS. You know you’ve won the argument when they call you names. It means they HAVE no argument.
    All you can do is laugh and walk away. You can’t reach people who have drank deep from Kool-Aid well. Just ask Jim Jones.
    Hell, I think I owe YOU that beer.

  7. Sam

    I can’t even go to church nowadays without hearing “Bush is a/n (insert negative comment here)”. OK, I go to a Unitarian church, but I expect tolerance to tolerate ALL viewpoints, not just the “progressive” ones. Those who call themselves “progressives” really aren’t because their progress has stopped. Kerry stiffles the free speech of the Swift vets and the poor guy who took the NASA picture of him in the bunny suit, and they still think Bush is the bad guy, even though Michael Moore is still running around free.
    Oh well, at least I can stop going to church and giving them my money. But it’s worse when you get that from family. I found the best way to make a vacation not-so fun was to come out to your liberal sister that you’ve been leading an open conservative lifestyle for the past 3 years. Woof!

  8. Dave J

    I couldn’t agree more with some of these comments: it’s relatively easy to write off lunatic leftwing friends but family’s much harder. I mean, by now I try to avoid talking politics with my mom like the plague–it’s painful to think of her as a paranoid nutjob spewing the same tired conspiracy theories and trite Bushitler-Enron-Ashcroft-Halliburton-Abu Ghraib bumper-sticker slogans as internet trolls. I’d much rather not have to even go there.

  9. Mikey

    Al – There’s nothing to debate with them. Passion has unseated reason and now rules them. There are still good people out there on the left to debate, although I do admit that the closer to Novemebr 2 we get, the fewer they seem to be.
    Ah, well, hang in there and keep posting. Just delete the jerks. They really aren’t worth your time.

  10. PJR

    Ah…. always nice to see the lunies frothing.
    Must be the logic , facts and valid arguments against your God and Saviour that really makes you lose your cool.
    Getting a C in logic , as some mentioned, isn’t good. In the real world it is rather mediocre.
    Still a republican that agrees with you but still managed to get a score that high….. really only proves that you can lead a donkey to water but you can’t make it drink.

  11. Major Sean Bannion

    I revise my earlier comment, a Democrat is one who can’t read and has no sense of irony — and similarly cannot spell. (See PJR comment above)
    THE VERY POIINT WAS THAT I DID GET A C IN LOGIC, A MEDIOCRE GRADE AT BEST, AND STILL CAN TEAR APART LIBERAL “ARGUMENTS” THAT PASS FOR LOGIC.
    Ummmm…hello?
    It’s not so much them being wrong about most things. It’s the sanctimony I can’t stand…

  12. Major Sean Bannion

    I revise my earlier comment, a Democrat is one who can’t read and has no sense of irony — and similarly cannot spell. (See PJR comment above)
    THE VERY POIINT WAS THAT I DID GET A C IN LOGIC, A MEDIOCRE GRADE AT BEST, AND STILL CAN TEAR APART LIBERAL “ARGUMENTS” THAT PASS FOR LOGIC.
    Ummmm…hello?
    It’s not so much them being wrong about most things. It’s the sanctimony I can’t stand…

  13. Ironbear

    “Aren’t most of us that way, Republicans and Libertarians?” – sds

    Naw… I’m generally pretty rude, tacky, and sarcastic. It’s losing my sense of humour over it that bothers me more than anything.

  14. sds

    Ironbear-
    I think that was too polite a response. If you were liberal you’d be swearing and streaming vulgarities at me.

  15. M.J. Taylor

    Quote:
    > Maybe it’s because these motherfuckers would elect Bill Z. Bubb,
    > ignoring his record of sheer evil and eternal torment of men’s
    > souls, if it would get a Dem back in the office.
    Not knocking you as a Republican, as I’m a Libertarian and supposedly we share many of the same goals. But I’ve heard the exact same thing from Democrats with the change of, “. . . would get Bush back in office.”
    If even half of the stories floating around about both Bush and Kerry are true, then both of them have serious ethical issues. And what should a nice polite person do? Don’t vote for either of them. . .
    M.J. Taylor
    Editor and Admin
    ReasonToFreedom.com

  16. bjbarron

    I teach at a college in an archly liberal state. I am unrepentantly conservative with a bit of social libertarianism thrown in (which to my fellow teachers means that I cook babies before I eat them).
    I can only think of one of my recent students (not a very serious one) who ardently subscribed to the Bush/Lied/Hitler/Knew side of the aisle.
    Most of the rest are more interested in parties/boys/girls/etc…don’t vote, don’t care, and don’t participate.
    The rare few, the young jewels, innocently tell me that they “don’t know what they are”, and want to find out. I get them into blogs of all stripes and tell them to strain everything thru a bullshit detector.
    But I also tell them to look out the window…to learn from what they see, not just from what they read. I don’t care which side of the aisle they fall into…I just want them to decide for themselves.
    The hard left has burnt out…and most students are uninterested or skeptical of both sides.
    Good

  17. Ironbear

    “I think that was too polite a response. If you were liberal you’d be swearing and streaming vulgarities at me.” – sds

    Damn! You mean I flunked my Moonbat Frothing Merit Badge AGAIN!?!?? Oh – the horror. ;]
    I swear I’ll try to do better, sd. That’s the only badge I’m missing before I can graduate to Eagle Blogger. ;]