Journalists and bloggers

Over at Oxblog David Adesnik hosted a discussion with a journalist at his University. While reporting on how it went, he ponders the way journalists operate and the different perspective that he brings in reading a paper, being a blogger, then the rest of the public do.

The final thought I had about today’s discussion was that if I can look back on myself from two years and say “Oh my God, I can’t believe how ignorant I was!”, who might look at me now and say “Oh my God, I can’t believe how ignorant he is!” Would it be the soldiers who read what I have to say about Iraq? The officials at State and DoD who might laugh at my primitive concept of how policymaking works? Or the journalists who marvel at how much arrogant advice and allegedly constructive criticism comes from someone who hasn’t written edited a newspaper since high school?

