In Memoriam

Anybody here seen my old friend Abraham?
Can you tell me where he’s gone?
He freed lotta people but it seems the good they die young
You know I just looked around and he’s gone
Anybody here seen my old friend John?
Can you tell me where he’s gone?
He freed lotta people but it seems the good they die young
I just looked around and he’s gone
Anybody here seen my old friend Martin?
Can you tell me where he’s gone?
He freed lotta people but it seems the good they die young
I just looked around and he’s gone
Didn’t you love the things that they stood for?
Didn’t they try to find some good for you and me?
And we’ll be free
Some day soon, it’s gonna be one day
Anybody here seen my old friend Bobby?
Can you tell me where he’s gone?
I thought I saw him walkin’ up over the hill
With Abraham, Martin, and John

“Abraham, Martin and John”–by Dion & The Belmonts
*
This nation has absorbed these losses and worse over the years, and come back stronger than ever–but the pain is always there, passed on by those who experienced it firsthand to future generations. The choice has always been either yielding to that pain and refusing to go on, or to fight on as the fallen would have were they still able–to fight for a day where the spilling of our dearest blood is no longer the price of admission for a better tomorrow. That day may never come–but it will always be worth fighting for.

