The dinner party to end them all

John Hawkins’ latest poll asks bloggers to name their favorite dinner companions in all history. Had I gotten my selections in on time, this is who I would have chosen.
1. William Shakespeare
2. Amelia Earhart
3. Jesus of Nazareth
4. King Solomon
5. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
6. Aleister Crowley
7. Adolf Hitler
8. Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha)
9. Lao-Tz’u
10. Hildegard of Bingen
11. Apollonius of Tyana
12. Plato
13. Pythagoras
14. Cleopatra
15. Eleanor of Aquitaine
16. Leonardo Da Vinci
17. Helena Blavatsky
18. Richard Wagner
19. Thomas Jefferson
20. Oscar Wilde

5 comments

  1. Alan K. Henderson

    Going to the top shelf and the bottom shelf, eh? 🙂
    Putting all 20 dinner companions in one setting is surely fascinating. I’m surprised at the inclusion of Blavatsky – if I wanted a mixture of religious thought, I’d look to major religions and replace her to Mohammad. Not sure I’d pick Crowley, although he would be quite a conversation piece 🙂
    I’m not at all familiar with Hildy or Apollonius, and scarcely know about Eleanor. (I’m an American; we’re not taught much of anything about our English heritage.)
    I’d been thinking about responding to Hawkins’ list with a list of different sets of people for different parties. That’ll be tomorrow’s post.
    Pythagoras?

  2. Al Maviva

    That’s no Allistair Crowley, the diabolist, you fool; that’s Ford Maddox Ford.
    Free beer for anybody who gets the reference.