You don’t see this very often

A libertarian who believes in the death penalty.

4 comments

  1. Mike Rentner

    I thought most of us libertarians believed in the death penalty. That’s pretty much one of the few legitimate roles of government.

  2. Scott Wickstein

    Not this libertarian. I wouldn’t trust my (Australian state) government to run a cake stall correctly; there’s no way I’d trust them with the power of life and death over someone.

  3. Alex Robson

    Scott wrote: “I wouldn’t trust my (Australian state) government to run a cake stall correctly; there’s no way I’d trust them with the power of life and death over someone.”
    Simple solution: privatize the criminal justice system.

  4. Mike Rentner

    Privatize the justice system? Yeeks! That’s the worst thing that could happen. Just look what happens when speeding tickets are issued by private companies via cameras, or to catch those running red lights. They make more money by catching more people, and horrible abuses occur.
    No, the free market only works where free will is involved. Making the use of force profitable is a really, really bad idea. That is the only legitimate role for government, and that is why its role must be extremely constrained.