Death to MOTS

So I was planning on watching the Democratic “debate” when I got home tonight. Figured I’d pour myself a glass[Ed–Ahem?]…okay, bottle of red wine. You know, for health reasons.
Picked up the phone to dial my friend, Erik, who vehemently disagrees with me about Iraq, thinks Bush is a total failure, and finds French foreign policy reasonable. Numbers were thrown out. Names were called. Then Erik hung up to go bowling when another buddy of mine stopped by to borrow my WSOP videotape…and ask me to teach him how to play Texas No-Limit Hold ‘Em. So much for the debate.
By the time he left, the “candidates” were reading their closing statements. Damn. Missed it again. The first words I managed to catch came from Dennis Kucinich, who said…
When I was growing up in the city of Cleveland, the oldest of seven children, my parents didn’t own a home…
Those 21 words were enough to convince me to forgo his 22nd. I knew where this little yarn was heading, and so do you. With scant desire to hear how Bush and Halliburton conspired to create this misery, I changed the channel, poured another drink, and sat down to write about the experience.
Now I could try and recount Erik’s exact words – to, you know, capture his mood – or cite, specifically, what Greg found difficult about progressive blinds. But the truth is, I’m likely to paraphrase, pick my favorite soundbites, then work them into a post that not-so-subtly articulates my position. Kind of like David M. Halbfinger does in this NYT piece
“I wish we’d pull our troops out from Iraq now,” she added. “I don’t understand why we can’t. I think it’s devastating that people have to die over there. And I think there are so many other things we could be spending that money on here in America.” – ‘Woman On The Street’, Jennifer Wilkerson, NYT [Emphasis mine]
Now there were a handful of supportive quotes included, and Ms. Wilkerson makes a convincing case for more federal funds for adult education, but I think we can all agree that pieces like this are disingenuous. At worst, they insinuate science where none exists. At best, they are beards for the convictions of calculating writers.
(Cross-posted at Velvet Hammers)

One comment

  1. John Anderson

    “I wish we’d pull our troops out from Iraq now. I don’t understand why we can’t.”
    Not a deep thinker there… I don’t pretend to know much, but it seems quite obvious to me that the coalition must not pull out before Iraq has a substantial police force, a military capable of withstanding attack from others in the area (or at least holding on long enough to cry for help), and a government of laws and courts to give direction to citizens, police, and military. Leaving now would be disastrous for the whole area, with Turkey and Iran at a minimum poised to “enforce peace” by grabbing off large areas, which would drag in others (if not already involved in the same practices) such as Saudi Arabia. Even Kuwait might want to “stabilize” the southern oil fields.
    It is frustrating to hear intelligent people still clinging to the World War One mindset of “Home by Christmas.” Now, the US cannot and should not be the World’s policeman – but no nation, even The Union of the Comoros, can be isolationist any more.